Over 40 children ready to party

One of the hospital staff visited me in my bungalow to invite me to his daughter’s birthday celebrations. I was not over enthusiastic about going, but I went along with Arka from the lab, and his wife, Preema. When we got to the house, it was full of young and not so young children, all sat on the floor in an orderly fashion, chattering away. I  could not imagine this happening in the UK!

The Birthday Girl

Two of the priests from the church were there and there was a short service, with a song and some prayers. Here is the birthday girl reading  Psalm 103, again hard to imagine in the UK, even in a church going family. She is 12 years old and in class 6.

Of course there was cake and a firework style candle as well, plus singing Happy birthday. Then there was an Indian style banquet as well.

A very happy moment for me was when I  spotted one of the ex Marshal Duar girls amongst the guests. I had been hoping to see her ever since I arrived in January, so this was an unexpected pleasure.  She has just sat her class 12 board exams, and hopes to start at the KSN Nursing School in the autumn.

mitchelmore123 avatar

Published by

Categories:

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started